Partners and their Representatives

The membership of the Partnership (GCP) consists of:

British Waterways – owner of (the vast majority of) the canal and its Navigation Authority

The 6 Local Authorities through which the canal flows:

Lincolnshire County Council

South Kesteven District Council

Leicestershire County Council

Melton Borough Council

Nottinghamshire County Council

Rushcliffe Borough Council

Natural England – ‘guardians of its environment’ and especially the Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSIs) along the canal


The national and local volunteer bodies:

Inland Waterways Association

Grantham Canal Society


Other relevant bodies may be involved from time to time e.g. the Wildlife Trusts of all 3 counties are engaged with the Partnership through the Environmental Sub-group of the GCP Executive, whose Chair sits on the Executive



The member organisations are currently represented on the GCP Executive by:


British Waterways:

Sean McGinley

Waterway Manager – East Midlands

British Waterways

The Kiln

Mather Road


Notts. NG24 1FB

01636 704481


Tony Harvey

Head of Enterprise – Midlands

British Waterways

Peel’s Wharf

Lichfield Street



Staffs. B78 3QZ

01827 252000



Lincolnshire County Council:

Cllr. Adam N. Stokes

22 Tissington Road


Lincs. NG31 7FP

01476 591142 / 07974 342648


South Kesteven District Council:

Cllr. Mrs Frances Cartwright

Brooklands Cottage

Aveland Way



Lincs. NG34 0HG

01778 440165


Leicestershire County Council:

Cllr. Byron Rhodes

The Yews

35 Watson’s Lane


Melton Mowbray

Leics. LE14 4DD

01949 860029


Melton Borough Council:

Cllr. Pru Chandler

Corner Farm

45 Main Street


Nottm. NG13 0FB

01949 842355


Nottinghamshire County Council:

Cllr. Martin Suthers OBE

Manor House

Main Street


Nr Newark

Notts. NG23 5LA

01636 525554 (Home) / 0115 9773854 (Day) / 01949 830801 (Work)


Rushcliffe Borough Council:

Cllr. David G. Bell

22 Stella Avenue


Notts. NG12 4EX

0115 937 6917


Natural England:

Ian Evans

Advisor – Leicestershire & Rutland Team

Natural England

Spur B West

Block 7

Chalfont Drive

Nottm. NG8 3SN

0300 0602744


Inland Waterways Association:

John W. Baylis

215 Clipstone Road West

Forest Town


Notts. NG19 0HJ

01623 621208


Grantham Canal Society:

Michael A. Stone, Chairman

7, Crow Park Drive

Burton Joyce

Nottm. NG14 5AS

0115 9313375 / 07860 150550



David Lyneham-Brown

Alexander House

213 Melton Road

Nottm. NG12 4AF

0115 9145002 / 07970 858458


Grantham Canal Partnership:

Peter Stone, Honorary Secretary

High Trees

18A Dovedale Road

West Bridgford

Nottm. NG2 6JA

0115 9232046 / 07905 449311


Bruce Thornton, Honorary Treasurer

11 Kent Road


Nottm. NG3 6BE

0115 9523949 / 07772 436299


Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust

Valerie L. Holt, Chair

22 Rushworth Avenue

West Bridgford

Nottm. NG2 7LF

0115 9822317